Drake Nguyen

Help build my lancer

7 posts in this topic

To start off, yes i am new at all this, i am 16 and I gotta start somewhere. I have a 2012 lancer ES. I want it to be my project daily car. I would like to turbocharge it and build it up. I know i have to upgrade many parts before i can turbocharge it but thats why I'm here, I'm not entirely sure where to start, what parts to use, where to buy these said parts, etc. I was wonder if there was anyone out there that has done this before and could guide me? 

Welcome aboard. You can 1st look through the threads here.  I have seen a lot of great threads that are very informative. If you have the CVT, it's probably not the best to turbo charge it.  But take some time and search all the threads. 

Hi dude.... Since it is your only car, first car too, I would first do some basic mods. If you never worked on cars it would be wise not to throw yourself in a project like boosting right away. I also don't know how stable financially but I always recommend having  a cash cushion with enough for a engine replacement (or at least a second car...). Love your enthusiasm, don't get me wrong, if you have the time, space and know how...it's an awesome project. I would just hate for you to have a 10000$ lawn ornament because something went wrong.

Make sure before you start piling money into mods that the car is running well and has had all necessary maintenance completed. Even though the car is only 2012, it's always a good idea to check spark plugs, change oil and filter, change the cabin filter and other little bits - basically making sure that the vehicle is 'mod ready'. These little maintenance jobs will help you get a feel for the car and get some experience doing work on the car. If it's a CVT with 30k plus miles, it's also worth considering to do a CVT oil change - just to get it out of the way, although this can be daunting for some so many leave it to the dealer.